Missing Lenny

Late 1996 – January 13, 2011

Lenny’s dead.
Life has fled.
Eyes are red.
Tears are flowing.

Soft fur
Won’t stir.
Last breath
Exhaled this morning.

Best friend,
Couldn’t mend.
Had to send
His spirit soaring.

Stay with me,
Sweet Lenny.
Your memory is
My mooring.

(January 13, 2011)
___________

January 12, 2012 – Lenny died  January 13, 2011, after sharing over 13 and a half years with me. He arrived in my world as a thin, thirsty, teenage stray on a hot Texas day in July 1997. Though his body is gone, his spirit will live in my heart forever. HE CHANGED MY LIFE. He inspired me to become a clicker trainer and a professional dog trainer and to see dogs, myself, and others in whole new ways. He was my teacher, my sidekick, my assistant, my confidant, my soul dog. Finally, a year later, the sadness has subsided enough that I can share some thoughts about him. Thank you, Lenny. I love you. See you again.

Leave a Reply

